Media Tip Sheet – Fresno State air-quality faculty experts

Home|PRESS RELEASES|Media Tip Sheet – Fresno State air-quality faculty experts

Media Tip Sheet – Fresno State air-quality faculty experts

Several Fresno State faculty members may be available to share their expertise about various air-quality issues.

If you need assistance connecting with these experts, contact University Communications at Fresno State at lboyles@csufresno.edu or 559.246.1717. These experts have varying availability today for inquiries on the current California fires, but could be useful sources for future interviews (see availability in parentheses below).

 

Emanuel Alcala Emanuel Alcala, research analyst with the Central Valley Health Policy Institute
ealcala@csufresno.edu
Expertise:

  • Air quality
  • Asthma research

John CapitmanDr. John Capitman, director of the Central Valley Health Policy Institute and professor in the Department of Public Health, College of Health and Human Services
jcapitman@csufresno.edu 
617.838.1513
Expertise:

  • Air pollution
  • Health inequity
  • Health disparities
  • Public health policy
  • Sits on governing board of the San Joaquin Valley Air Pollution Control District

Dr. Alam HassonDr. Alam Hasson, associate dean, College of Science and Mathematics
ahasson@csufresno.edu
Expertise:

  • Theoretical calculations aimed at improving our understanding of air pollution and climate change
  • Physical chemistry
  • Atmospheric chemistry

Dr. Lynn JakobsDr. Lynn Jakobs, assistant professor in the School of Nursing, College of Health and Human Services
ljakobs@csufresno.edu
Expertise:

  • Respiratory illness in rural farm workers (might provide an interesting angle)

Jaymin KwonDr. Jaymin Kwon, associate professor in the Department of Public Health, College of Health and Human Services
jkwon@csufresno.edu
Expertise:

  • Air pollution, exposure assessment
  • Air pollution epidemiology
  • Impact of air pollution exposure on pregnancy and other health outcomes

Dr. Aric Mine, assistant professor in the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences, College of Science and Mathematics
amine@mail.fresnostate.edu
518.598.2793
Expertise:

  • Biogeochemistry
  • Environmental Science
  • Geobiology