Welcome to FresnoStateNews.com -- Daily news updates from the California State University, Fresno campus

Click the FresnoStateNews logo to return to the home page

University Communications - 5244 North Jackson Ave. Fresno, CA 93740-8027 - 559.278.8595

October 08, 2009


Industrial Technology students, faculty recognized for research

Students and faculty members in the Department of Industrial Technology at California State University, Fresno recently were awarded three prizes at the 2008 American Society of Agriculture and Biological Engineers District 4 meeting in Tulare.

Twelve students attended the conference and three of them – Nick Simonian, Diganta Adhikari and Harvinder Singh – spoke about their research conducted at Fresno State.

Dr. Balaji Seth presented the keynote speech on “Geospatial Technology for Agriculture and Future Potential in Central Valley California.” The students were also accompanied by department chair Dr. Matthew Yen and part time faculty member Dr. Mohan Chaudhari.

More than 120 students, industry professionals and staff members from the federal and state agency levels voted on the posters presented during the presentations, which were given by undergraduate and graduate students at University of California, Davis; Butte College; Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo; and Modesto Junior College.

The winning presentations from Fresno State were:

  • First place, graduate poster – “Unmanned Aerial Vehicle for Precision Agriculture” – Authors are Simonian, Seth, Darnell Austin, Premchand Mahalik and Yen.

  • First place, undergraduate poster – “Geospatial Wine Grape Quality Modeling for Optimum Sampling Sites Estimation - Preliminary Study” – Authors are Singh, Seth, Sivakumar Sachidhanantham and Robert Wample.

  • Second place, graduate poster – “Feasibility of a Micro Drip SCADA System to Mitigate Crop Freeze Damage” – Authors are Adhikari, Seth and Yen.

For more information about the Department of Industrial Technology, call 559.278.2145.

(Copy by University Communications student-intern Megan Jacobsen.)