The Fresno State Alumni Association is seeking nominations for the 2003 Top Dog Alumni Awards to be presented this fall to alumni and friends of the university. The awards are:

The Distinguished Alumni Award, the highest honor given to an alumnus/alumna of the university. It is based on scholarship, leadership and service to the university, the Valley and the state. Past recipients include Fresno County Superintendent of Schools Pete Mehas, astronaut Steven Nagel, California Secretary of State Bill Jones and Nevada Governor Kenny Guinn.

The Outstanding Alumni Awards, which recognize Fresno State alumni from each of the university’s eight schools and colleges of academic discipline, plus the Division of Student Affairs and the athletics department. These 10 alumni are honored for outstanding accomplishments in their fields and for the example of exceptional achievement they set for current students. Past recipients include Paul O’Neill, U.S. Secretary of the Treasury; Roy Christopher, Emmy Award-winning set designer; the Honorable Annette LaRue; and Rick Husband, NASA astronaut.

The Arthur Safstrom Service Award, which is presented to an alumnus/alumna or friend of California State University, Fresno who has given outstanding service to the Alumni Association or the University. Past recipients include Earl and Muriel Smittcamp, Robert Duncan, Pat and Vinci Ricchiuti and William Forbes.

Nominations, due by March 14, may be submitted by alumni, faculty, staff, student and friends of the university. Nomination forms and guidelines may be obtained by calling the Fresno State Alumni Association Office at (559) 278-2586.

Recipients will be honored at the Fresno State Alumni Association’s Top Dog Alumni Awards Gala held in the fall.