State University Fee increase for spring is due Dec. 3

Home|PRESS RELEASES|State University Fee increase for spring is due Dec. 3

State University Fee increase for spring is due Dec. 3

A notice about the increase in the State University Fee passed Wednesday, Nov. 9, by the California State University Board of Trustees was sent to California State University, Fresno students with a reminder that the payment deadline is Dec. 3 to enroll in spring 2011.

The trustees approved a two-step increase that is needed to sustain enrollment, classes and services for current students:

  • A mid-year increase of 5 percent, or $105, will go into effect January 1, 2011, for spring semester full-time undergraduate students, raising the State University Fee from the current $2,115 to $2,220.The revenue generated by this mid-year increase will allow the university to maintain essential services to students and add course offerings for spring 2011 to respond to student needs.
  • A 10 percent annual increase, or $444 per full-time undergraduate student for the 2011-12 academic year will take effect fall 2011, unless the governor and Legislature heed the CSU request to “buy out” the increase with state funds. A buyout would allow the Board of Trustees to rescind this 2011-12 increase.

For credential and graduate student fee increases, see http://www.calstate.edu/budget/student-fees/fee-rates/112010-BOT-tuition-increase-detail.shtml)

One-third of the revenue from the tuition increases will be set aside for financial aid. About half of Fresno State’s undergraduate students will be fully covered for the fee increases due to financial aid. Many other students not fully covered by financial aid will benefit from newly expanded federal tax credits available for family incomes of up to $180,000.

Despite the prospective tuition increases, the CSU will continue to rank among the lowest cost of comparable institutions in the country. More information.

Students are advised to check their MyFresnoState accounts for the increase.