34 schools honored at Character and Civic Education conference

Home|PRESS RELEASES|34 schools honored at Character and Civic Education conference

34 schools honored at Character and Civic Education conference

Michael Josephson, an ethics and character expert, delivered the keynote speech at the Fresno State Kremen School of Education’s 28th annual Conference on Character and Civic Education on Friday, April 13, at the Fresno Convention Center.

Fresno State’s Bonner Center for Character Education also recognized 34 central San Joaquin Valley elementary schools with Virtues and Character Recognition awards. It is the 25th annual recognition of schools for exemplary attention to character education.

The conference for Fresno State and Fresno Pacific University student teachers is the oldest of its kind in the United States, said Dr. Jacques S. Benninga, conference co-director of the Bonner Center and a Kremen School faculty member.

Benninga said the conference provides the prospective teachers with information on local civic agencies assisting children and families with life issues. Workshops present ethical issues facing today’s teachers, professionally appropriate ways of dealing with them and strategies to enhance character strengths in their students.

Josephson is a speaker and consultant on ethics and character, who founded the Josephson Institute of Ethics in 1987 after a 20-year career teaching law. The institute is best known for creating Character Counts!, billed the world’s largest character-development program.

Josephson has appeared on national news programs and written or co-authored more than 20 books.

For more information contact, Benninga at 550/278.0253 or jackb@csufresno.edu or conference co-directors Jane Moosoolian, at 550/278.0115 or janem@csufresno.edu and Dr. Susan Schlievert, at susansc@csufresno.edu.

Related links:

25th annual Virtues and Character Recognition Awards

Central Unified School District

  • Herndon Barstow Elementary School
  • Saroyan Elementary School
  • Central unified
  • Norman Liddell Elementary School
  • Madison Elementary School
  • James K. Polk Elementary School
  • Harvest Elementary School
  • Houghton-Kearney Elementary School
  • John Steinbeck Elementary School

Fresno County Office of Education

  • Valley Preparatory Academy Charter School

Clovis Unified School District

  • Clovis Elementary School
  • Red Bank Elementary School
  • Cedarwood Elementary School
  • Weldon Elementary School

Fowler Unified School District

  • Fremont Elementary School

Kingsburg Elementary Charter School District

  • Lincoln Elementary School

Porterville Unified School District

  • Monte Vista Elementary School

Sanger Unified School District

  • Sanger Academy Charter School
  • Jefferson Elementary School
  • Fairmont Elementary School
  • Wilson Elementary School
  • Lone Star Elementary School
  • Ronald W. Reagan Elementary School
  • Sequoia Elementary School
  • John S. Wash Elementary School
  • Centerville Elementary School
  • Del Rey Elementary School
  • Jackson Elementary School

Selma Unified School District

  • Wilson Elementary School

Springville Union School District

  • Springville Union Elementary School

Sundale Union Elementary School District

  • Sundale Union Elementary School

Tipton Elementary School District

  • Tipton Elementary School

Tulare City School District

  • Lincoln Elementary School
  • Wilson Elementary School
  • Pleasant Elementary School