Top Dog Alumni Awards nominations deadline is March 11

Home|PRESS RELEASES|Top Dog Alumni Awards nominations deadline is March 11

Top Dog Alumni Awards nominations deadline is March 11

The Fresno State Alumni Association (FSAA) invites nominations from alumni, faculty, staff, students and friends for its 2013 Top Dog Alumni Awards.

The awards recognize individuals who have distinguished themselves in service or career achievements since leaving campus.

The honorees are celebrated at the Top Dog Alumni Awards Gala held each fall in the Save Mart Center during Homecoming Week.

Fourteen awards in three categories will be presented at the Gala:

The Distinguished Alumni Award, the highest honor given to a Fresno State alumnus/alumna. It is based on scholarship, leadership and service to the university, the region and the state. Last year’s recipient is Marvin Meyers, a farming pioneer in private water banking and founder of the Meyers Water Bank and Wildlife Project.

Other previous winners include the Hon. Robert H. Oliver, Fresno County Superior Court Judge; Trent Dilfer, an NFL analyst for ESPN and quarterback for theSuper Bowl XXXV champion Baltimore Ravens; Larry Dickenson, vice president for sales of Boeing’s Commercial Airplanes Group; Herb Depp, vice president of Boeing Programs for General Electric’s Aircraft Engines; Hon. Charles Poochigian, state Court of Appeal justice; and Joy Covey, former chief strategy officer for

Outstanding Alumni Awards, recognizing university alumni/alumnae from each of the university’s eight academic schools and colleges, and from the Division of Student Affairs, Department of Athletics, Division of Graduate Studies and the Henry Madden Library. Honorees have accomplished careers and are examples for current students of exceptional achievement.

Past recipients include the late Air Force Col. Rick Husband, commander of the space shuttle Columbia; James Kardach, inventor of Bluetooth; Paul O’Neill, former U.S. Secretary of the Treasury; Brad Lewis, a Clio, Emmy and Oscar-award winner; and Kerri Donis, deputy fire chief for the City of Fresno.

The Arthur Safstrom Service Award, presented to an alumnus/alumna or friend of Fresno State who has given outstanding service to the Alumni Association or the university.

Last year’s recipient was Maria Gutierrez, who joined a prestigious group of previous winners including  Hal Kissler and Maureen Lewis, Muriel and Earl Smittcamp, Robert Duncan and Pat and Vinci Ricchiuti.

Nominations must be received in the Alumni Association office by March 11. For additional information, call 559.278.2586.

Sponsorship opportunities for the gala also are available by contacting Hank Charles, assistant director of Business Development, at 559.278.8520.

Related links:

Download Adobe Acrobat Reader