Dr. Colleen Torgerson, Ivy Fitzpatrick and Fresno State President John D. Welty are the 2013 recipients of the Jan and Bud Richter Awards of Excellence in Education presented by the Kremen School of Education and Human Development at Fresno State.

The awards recognize administrators, faculty and staff members for their contributions to the fields of education and human services. According to organizers, these honorees achieved outstanding accomplishments that help the Kremen School prepare future educators.

Torgerson, a Fresno State alumnus, was selected as the Kremen School faculty member honoree. She directs the Learning Communities and First Year Experience programs, as well as coordinates school partnerships for the Kremen School.

She joined the Kremen faculty in 1999 and teaches in the Special Education masters and credential program and in the Educational Leadership doctoral program. She also served the college as a program coordinator, department chair and associate dean. Torgerson published 14 articles and book chapters and received an Irvine Foundation grant.

Fitzpatrick, the Kremen School staff member recipient, is the education school’s credential program admissions technician and the first point of contact for those seeking to become teachers. Recognized by colleagues as friendly, compassionate and genuinely interested in her work, Fitzpatrick is considered the “go-to-person” by credential candidates. She is also currently completing her master’s degree in Counseling and Student Services.

President Welty, the longest serving president in Fresno State’s 102-year history, is the award winner for faculty member outside Kremen School. He was recognized for a variety of achievements in education and entrepreneurship. He was also recognized for playing a vital role in the fundraising efforts for the Kremen School.

Welty retires as Fresno State President on July 31.

For more information, contact Inez Elliston, assistant to the dean for the Kremen School of Education and Human Development, 559.278.0210 or ineze@csufresno.edu. Award details.


Download Adobe Acrobat Reader