Smittcamp Family Honors College class No. 15 arrives

Home|PRESS RELEASES|Smittcamp Family Honors College class No. 15 arrives

Smittcamp Family Honors College class No. 15 arrives

The Smittcamp Family Honors College at Fresno State has admitted its 15th class of high-achieving high school graduates for the 2013-14 academic year.

Honors College students receive an annual President’s Honors Scholarship for their undergraduate degree program up to a maximum of eight semesters. Scholarships cover in-state registration and an optional credit for university housing.

The Smittcamp Family Honors College is unique in the California State University system because President’s Scholars are admitted as a group, take a series of specially designed honors courses and interact in educational and social activities. Applicants must score 1800 or above on the SAT or 27 or above on the ACT, be in the upper 10 percent of their graduating class or have a minimum 3.8 GPA in college-preparation classes.

The Smittcamp Family Honors College began in 1998 with a $1 million gift from Earl and Muriel Smittcamp and family, a prominent agribusiness family and longtime supporters of Fresno State.

The 2013-14 President’s Scholars, hometowns and high schools are:

  • Ishaq Ali, Fresno (Edison)
  • Christopher Andresen, Fresno (Central – West)
  • Ridge Bertuccio, Merced (Golden Valley)
  • Alanna Blevins-Layton, Acton (Saugus)
  • Frances Bueno, Visalia (Redwood)
  • Charis Calvert, Fresno (Clovis North)
  • Caitlyn Cardoza, Fresno (San Joaquin Memorial)
  • Erika Castanon, Fresno (Central – East)
  • Parker Coelho, Kingsburg (Kingsburg)
  • Navmit Dhesi, Fresno (Central – West)
  • Ellen Douglass, Ramona (Ramona)
  • Danae Dubberke, Fresno (Buchanan)
  • Cathleen Fagundes, Fresno (Hoover)
  • Leyla Fardishpour, Fresno (Clovis North)
  • Rami Gabriel, Fresno, (Clovis West)
  • David Garcia, Fresno (Bullard)
  • Monet Gomes, Clovis (Clovis)
  • Alex Gong, Visalia (Redwood)
  • Jeffrey Hatai, Fresno (Clovis North)
  • Maxwell Hill, Fresno (Clovis West)
  • Alexis Jackson, Fresno (Clovis West)
  • Nisha John, Clovis (Buchanan)
  • Caden Jones, Fresno (University High)
  • Kari Kimura, Fresno (Clovis West)
  • Olivia Krohn, Fresno (Clovis North)
  • Marisol Lauri, Fresno (University High)
  • Jasmine Mahfoud, Kingsburg (Kingsburg)
  • Arjun Mann, Fresno (Clovis North)
  • Matthew Metcalf, Salida (Big Valley Christian)
  • Kaitlin Molaison, Merced (Golden Valley)
  • Madelyn Neufeld, Fresno (University High)
  • Monica Orona, Clovis (Clovis High)
  • Jonna Mae Pagaduan, Oakdale (Oakdale)
  • Boris Pavic, Fresno (Edison)
  • Hannah Poore, Prather (Sierra)
  • Rekha Rangan, Vacaville (Vanden)
  • Majerle Reeves, Fresno (Bullard)
  • Hannah Riccardi, Fresno (Edison)
  • Manpreet Romana, Fresno (Central – West)
  • Timothy Ryan, Fresno (Edison)
  • Abigail Sandquist, Arroyo Grande (Arroyo Grande)
  • Alyssa Serpa, Tulare (San Joaquin Memorial)
  • Tania Soto Guillen, Fresno (Sanger)
  • Amy Tang, Elk Grove (Pleasant Grove )
  • Montanna Tarkington, Tulare (Tulare Union)
  • Daniel Townsend, Visalia (Redwood)
  • William Trickett, Fresno (Fowler)
  • Laura Tsutsui, Fresno (Fresno)
  • Casey Walker, Delhi (Hearthstone Academy)
  • Bethany Warnes, Fresno (Edison)