Twelve California State University, Fresno students have the opportunity to learn about public service first-hand as they work in state or federal government offices this fall as part of the Maddy Scholar Internship Program.

The program is sponsored by the Kenneth L. Maddy Institute at Fresno State and funded by the Maddy State Endowment Fund, the Costa Scholarship Fund and the Maddy Associates Fund.

The participating students, their majors and their internship assignment are:

Scott Braden, Fresno, Political Science, State Sen. Jeff Denham

Holly (McKay) Carter, Clovis, Communications, U.S. Rep. George Radanovich

Carol Furby, Communications, State Sen. Dean Florez

Adam Horn, San Jose, Political Science/ Communications, U.S. Sen. Barbara Boxer

Andrew Kliewer, International Relations, Assemblymember Mike Villines

Jacob Lipschitz, Fresno, Communications, U.S. Rep. Jim Costa

William Oliver, Madera, Business Marketing/Political Science, U.S. Sen. Diane Feinstein

Kelsey Peterson, Sonora, Political Science/English, Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger

Chet Reilly, Fresno, Public Administration, Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger

Allison Sadoian, Fresno, Political Science, State Sen. David Cogdill;

Anthony Yrigollen, Hanford, Social Work, Assemblymember Juan Arambula

Nakia Xiong, Merced, International Business, U.S. Rep. Dennis Cardoza.

The interns will receive a stipend and are required to complete specific tasks in their assignments.

To be considered for the Maddy Internship Scholarship program, students must maintain a 3.0 GPA and be at least juniors.

The Maddy Institute was established at Fresno State in 1999 by the Legislature, honoring the memory of Ken Maddy, whose more than 28 years of public service exemplified successful application of the principles of personal integrity and bipartisanship in the political process.

For more information, contact Dr. Mark Keppler, director, at 559.294.9119 or

For more information contained in this release, please go to the following Web site(s):

Maddy Institute